donate online

News & Blog

June 18, 2012

2012 Diane Siemer Scholarship Recipient Named

Kennedy Brummerstedt has been named as the second recipient of the Diane Siemer Scholarship Fund. The 2012 scholarship award is for $2,500. Brummerstedt received his GED in April of 2011 and plans to attend Lake Land College working towards his Associated Degree in computer technology.

The Diane Siemer Scholarship Fund was established by Diane’s family in honor of her long career in education working with individuals to earn their high school diploma by completing the General Educational Development (GED) test. The purpose of the Diane Siemer Scholarship Fund is to perpetuate higher educational opportunities by providing scholarships to GED (General Equivalency Diploma) graduates in Effingham County.

Qualified applicants for this annual scholarship must have received a General Equivalency Diploma (GED certificate) within the last five years and should reside in Effingham County. The scholarship is available to students who plan to attend a 2 year, 4 year college or university or vocational/technical school, however, preference will be given to students planning to attend Lake Land College in Mattoon, Illinois.

related news