donate online

News & Blog

June 25, 2024

2024 William, Agnes, and Elizabeth Burgess (Osborne) Memorial Scholarships awarded to 70 recipients

(Mattoon, Illinois – June 17, 2024) Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation is pleased to announce the 2024 recipients of the William, Agnes, and Elizabeth Burgess (Osborne) Memorial Scholarship. Scholarships totaling $70,000 have been awarded to graduates from Mattoon High School.

The recipients are Sadie Armstrong, Madison Barnes, Zoe Barton, Joseph Beadles, Evelyn Bell, Canyn Borntrager, Meah Butler, Keikei Carey, Abigail Carter, Liliana Carter, Lance Chaney, Miles Clapp, Ella Conyers, Sarah Creel, Rease Daniels, Josiah Donaldson, Ashley Earp, Kyah Eastin, Ty Eastin, Josh Egejuru, Paige Farmer, Nolan Fogarty, Mitchell Gergeni, Lillian Ghere, Avery Gill, Peyton Gill, Lily Gregory, Berit Haldorsen, Callan Haldorsen, Owen Hawkins, Ryleigh Hawkins, Ashlee Higginbotham, Aubrie Hout, Nate Huddleston, Maisy Hughes, Peniel King, Taylor Kovach, Josephine Lee, Camryn Lee, Madison MacDonald, Diego Mendoza, Hallee Perry, Ethan Pope, Lundyn Pope, Blaine Powers, Chloe Pruitt, Joshua Ramage, Morgan Rankins, Kaiden Rice, Karsen Rice, Makayla Richey, Madeline Sharp, Elaina Short, Jason Skocy, Colton Smith, Isabella Smith, Dakota Spencer, John Sullivan, Kiera Thomas, Kailyn Tracy, Marlana Van Hoveln, Griffin Walk, Andrew Wetzel, Zachary Wetzel, Laney Wright, Quentin Wright.

The William, Agnes, and Elizabeth Burgess (Osborne) Memorial Scholarship is made possible by the generous gift of farm ground from Elizabeth (Burgess) Osborne and her parents, William and Agnes Burgess. This scholarship supports current seniors and graduates of Mattoon High School in Mattoon, Illinois.

Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation manages more than 200 funds for the immediate and long-term benefit of communities in southeastern Illinois. For more information, contact Alex Pleasant, President/CEO of Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation, at 217.342.4988 or

related news