donate online

News & Blog

July 12, 2013

Area High School Students Receive Niebrugge Scholarship

The Effingham County Community Foundation is pleased to announce the 2013 recipients of the Ray, Mary, and Tim Niebrugge Scholarship Fund. Fifteen $2,000 scholarships have been awarded to the following area high school students:

Teutopolis High School – Renee Breer,Anna Habing, Lyndi Myers, Katie Ruholl, Laura Wente, Tyler Windell, Benjamin Zuber; Effingham High School –Kodi Avery, Casey Funneman, Emily Westfall; St. Anthony High School – Michael Goldstein, Monica Lin, Briana Schuette; Dieterich –Renee Slifer; Beecher City High School: Katelyn Donovan.

The Ray, Mary, and Tim Niebrugge Scholarship Fund was established by Tim Niebrugge, the son of Ray and Mary Niebrugge of Green Creek. Ray Niebrugge inherited a tract of land from his father John, and continued to farm the land and reinvesting in the farm by acquiring more acreage through nearly 40 years. Tim continued to farm the ground after his parents passed away until his own death on September 22, 2006. Tim never married and had no children and established this trust to help students with financial need continue their education.

Graduates of any Effingham County high school are eligible to apply for a scholarship for undergraduate study at a 2- or 4-year college/university or technical school. The criteria for the scholarship is based on 50% financial need, 25% merit (based on school, community, and personal activities or work experience), and 25% achievement (ACT of SAT scores and school transcripts).

For more information about the Ray, Mary, and Tim Niebrugge Scholarship Fund or the Effingham County Community Foundation, contact Joedy Hightower, at 217-342-4988.

related news