donate online

News & Blog

June 30, 2015

Area High School Students Receive Niebrugge Scholarship

(Top, L-R) Kelli Bernahl, Elena Breer, Renee Breer, Justine Eckhoff, Thomas Flach,
(Row 2, L-R) Sean French, Natalie Goeckner, Mark Hendricks, Kacie Phillips, Kevin Robards,
(Row 3, L-R) Jenna Ruholl, Katie Ruholl, Kristen Schuette, Abigail Schumacher, Luke Vahling,
(Bottom, L-R) Andrea Wendling, April Wenthe, Danielle White

The Effingham County Community Foundation is pleased to announce the 2015 recipients of the Ray, Mary, and Tim Niebrugge Scholarship Fund. Eighteen scholarships totaling $40,000 have been awarded to the following area high school graduates:

Teutopolis High School – Elena Breer, Renee Breer, Thomas Flach, Jenna Ruholl, Katie Ruholl, Abigail Schumacher, Luke Vahling; Effingham High School – Kelli Bernahl, Sean French; St. Anthony High School – Natalie Goeckner, Kristen Schuette, April Wenthe; Dieterich – Kevin Robards; Altamont High School – Justine Eckhoff, Mark Hendricks, Kacie Phillips, Andrea Wendling, Danielle White.

The Ray, Mary and Tim Niebrugge Scholarship was established by Tim Niebrugge, the son of Ray and Mary Niebrugge of Green Creek. Ray Niebrugge inherited a tract of land from his father John and continued reinvesting in the farm for over 40 years. Tim farmed the ground after his parents passed away until his own death on September 22, 2006. Tim was never married and had no children. Tim established this trust to help students with financial need continue their education

Graduates of any Effingham County high school are eligible to apply for a scholarship for undergraduate study at any two or four-year college/university or technical school. The primary determinant for selection is financial need.

related news