donate online

News & Blog

May 24, 2018

Community Foundation Announces Recipients of 2018 Epplin Health Profession Scholarship

(above, L-R) Saidee Bushur, Hannah Porter

Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation is pleased to announce that Saidee Bushur and Hannah Porter have been named recipients of the 2018 Thomas J. Epplin Health Profession Scholarship.

Saidee Bushur is a 2018 graduate of St. Anthony High School. She plans to attend Southern Illinois University Edwardsville to obtain a bachelor of science degree in nursing.

Hannah Porter is a 2018 graduate of Pinckneyville High School. In the fall, she will attend Southeast Missouri State University and major in nursing with plans to obtain a master of science degree in nursing.

Dr. Thomas J. Epplin, was born and raised in Pinckneyville, Illinois. He was a dentist in Vandalia, Illinois for 25 years where he was an active member of his parish, president of the Fayette County Health Department, and a member of various professional organizations. He was an avid supporter of St. Anthony High School in Effingham, Illinois during the years his daughter attended. Tom was also passionate about promoting educational opportunities for students in all walks of life. This scholarship has been made possible by the generous gifts of family and friends who wish to carry on Dr. Epplin’s legacy.

related news