donate online

News & Blog

August 19, 2009

Mattoon Area Community Foundation Fills Board Seats

(L-R) Mike Genta and Angela Griffin

The board of directors of the Mattoon Area Community Foundation recently appointed Mr. Mike Genta & Mrs. Angela Griffin to a three year term on the board.

Mr. Genta works in Sales and Management at KC Summers in Mattoon, is a resident of Mattoon, a graduate of Mattoon High School and Eastern Illinois University. He and his wife, Jayne, have three children and enjoy traveling and cooking. “It’s important to me to be active in my community and I have participated in a number of civic organizations such as Mattoon Red Cross, St. Mary’s School Board and I am currently finance chairman of Immaculate Conception Parish,” said Genta.

Mrs. Griffin is President of Coles Together in Mattoon and a resident of Charleston. She and her husband, Richard, have three children and enjoy traveling. Mrs. Griffin also serves as administrator of the Coles County Enterprise Zone and serves on the boards of the Coles County Community Development Corporation, the Eastern Illinois Railroad Company, the Salvation Army, the Body Electric Coalition and the Illinois Development Council.

“I am very happy to welcome Mike and Angela to the Mattoon Area Community Foundation Board, said Joedy Hightower, President and CEO of the Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation. “Their passion for giving back will be a real asset to the Foundation.”

Established in 1981, the Mattoon Area Community Foundation is a component fund of the newly established Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation. The Community Foundation manages a collection of funds and resources given by local citizens and organizations to enhance and support the quality of life in Mattoon Area and surrounding communities. The executive officers of the Mattoon Area Community Foundation local leadership board include: Joe Fearday, Chair; Chuck LeFebvre, Vice Chair; Steve Wente, Treasurer; and Vickie Whitlock, Secretary. Additional directors include: Ann Beck, Chris Christman, Jerry Groniger, Scott Lensink, Preston Owen and Brian Titus.

related news