donate online

News & Blog

May 31, 2016

Niebrugge Scholarship Awards $20,000 to Effingham County Graduates

(Top row, L-R) Dan Altman, Keegan Avery, Kory Avery, and Elena Breer
(Second row, L-R) Craig Brummer, Kyla Burton, Sean French, Carli Fritcher
(Third row, L-R) Drake Hill, Jared Minor, Kacie Phillips, Katie Ruholl
(Bottom row, L-R) Renee Tillman, Luke Vahling, Michaela Vahling, Danielle White

Effingham County Community Foundation is pleased to announce the 2016 recipients of the Ray, Mary, and Tim Niebrugge Scholarship Fund. Sixteen scholarships totaling $20,000 have been awarded to the following area students:

Teutopolis High School – Katie Ruholl, Elena Breer, Luke Vahling and Michaela Vahling; Effingham High School – Sean French, Drake Hill, Carli Fritcher, Kory Avery, Jared Minor and Keegan Avery; Altamont High School – Renee Tillman, Danielle White, Kacie Phillips and Dan Altman; St. Anthony High School – Kyla Burton and Craig Brummer.

The Ray, Mary and Tim Niebrugge Scholarship was established by Tim Niebrugge, the son of Ray and Mary Niebrugge of Green Creek. Ray Niebrugge inherited a tract of land from his father, John, and continued reinvesting in the farm for more than 40 years. Tim farmed the ground after his parents passed away until his own death on September 22, 2006. Tim was never married and had no children. Tim established this trust to help students with financial need continue their education.

related news