donate online

News & Blog

July 10, 2013

Nominations Sought for the Outstanding Philanthropist in Southeastern Illinois

Each year Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation recognizes outstanding philanthropic achievements by individuals in Southeastern Illinois. Nominations for the Richard C. Siemer Outstanding Philanthropist Award are being accepted beginning July 8 through August 30.

This year’s award is being sponsored by Midland States Bank. Leon J. Holschbach, President and CEO of Midland States Bank commented, “All the hometowns in our region benefit greatly from individuals who so generously give back. Midland States Bank is honored to sponsor this year’s award and appreciates the foundation’s efforts of recognizing these individuals in such an appropriate way.”

“We hope individuals will take a moment to nominate those people that demonstrate their passion and commitment for giving back to their community,” said Joedy Hightower, president/CEO of the Community Foundation. Nominations for the Outstanding Philanthropist Award are open to any individual or family in Southeastern Illinois with a proven record of exceptional generosity who demonstrates outstanding civic and charitable responsibility.

Nomination forms must be received by midnight on Friday, August 30, 2013. The 2013 Outstanding Philanthropist will be announced at the Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation benefit on Friday, October 4, 2013 at the Keller Convention Center in Effingham.

Tom Wright from Dieterich, Illinois was selected for the award last year. Tom’s history of service includes the Friends of St. Anthony’s; Lake Land College Foundation, Cross at the Crossroads Foundation, Effingham County 911 Board and the Effingham County Economic Development Board. In his hometown, Tom serves on the Board of Directors of the Dieterich Community Development Corporation and is a member of the Dieterich Ruritan Club, Dieterich S.O.S., Dieterich Community Medical Center Rural Health Clinic Committee and Grace Lutheran Church.

For questions regarding nominations contact Joedy Hightower at 217.342.4988.

Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation was established in 2009 as a result of a partnership between the Effingham County Community Foundation (est. 1999) and the Mattoon Area Community Foundation (est. 1980). Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation operates as a collection of permanent and non-permanent funds for the long-term benefit of Clark, Clay, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Effingham, Fayette, Jasper, Lawrence, Richland and Shelby counties in Southeastern Illinois.

related news