donate online

News & Blog

May 30, 2018

Recipients Announced for 2018 Croft Brothers Scholarship

(Top row, L-R) Alyssa Cunningham, Rachel Mette
(Bottom row, L-R) Lauren Meyer, Trent Myers

Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation is pleased to announce that four Effingham County students have been awarded the Croft Brothers Scholarship.

Alyssa Cunningham has received a $2,500 scholarship to attend National Louis University to earn a P.A.C.E. Certificate of Completion and plans to pursue a career as a teacher’s aide. Alyssa is a 2017 graduate of Effingham High School.

Rachel Mette, a 2018 graduate of Teutopolis High School, is the recipient of a $1,500 and plans to attend Eastern Illinois University.

Lauren Meyer has been named recipient of a $2,500 scholarship. Lauren is a 2016 graduate of Effingham High School and is enrolled at Lake Land College, studying special education.

Trent Myers is a 2018 graduate of Teutopolis High School. He received a $1,000 scholarship and plans to study marketing and residential wiring at Lake Land College.

The Croft Brothers Scholarship was established by Terry Croft, a self-employed Effingham businessman who died in 2010. Mr. Croft established the Effingham County scholarship fund in honor of his late brother, Larry.

related news