donate online

News & Blog

February 17, 2015

Regional Community Foundation Welcomes New Directors

Dr. Ned Hoppin is retired from Sarah Bush Lincoln Health Center. He was born and raised in northern California, graduated from University of California at Berkeley and received his M.D. degree from St. Louis University School of Medicine. Dr. Hoppin was Director of the Regional Cancer Center from 1991 until 2008, when he became Vice- President of Medical Affairs at Sarah Bush. He has served on several boards including Mattoon School Board, Sarah Bush Lincoln Health Center, Coles County Public Health and Catholic Charities. He is currently a member of the Board of Coles County Council on Aging, Mattoon Rotary and Immaculate Conception Church. Dr. Hoppin and his wife, Barbara, have two sons and one granddaughter.

Jerry McDaniel is President and owner of Superior Fuels, Inc., a wholesale supplier of petroleum products, ethanol and bio diesel in Southern Illinois, and owner in Dirtbuster Carwash, LLC. McDaniel is the founder of McDaniel Transportation which began as a two-truck operation in 1984 and grew to over 150 trucks serving customers in 5 states until The Kenan Advantage Group purchased the company in 2000. He also sits on the Board of Directors of Midland States Bank in Effingham. He served on the Board of the Effingham County Community Foundation prior to accepting a three –year term on the governing board of Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation. Mr. McDaniel and his wife, Madalaine, enjoy spending time on Lake Sara with their three children.

According to Brian Titus, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation, “The appointment of McDaniel and Dr. Hoppin represents a significant step toward expanding our board’s reflection of the region we serve and we look forward to their contributions to the board.“

Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation was established in 2009 as a result of a partnership between the Effingham County Community Foundation (est. 1999) and the Mattoon Area Community Foundation (est. 1980) designed to serve additional counties in the region. Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation operates as a collection of permanent and non-permanent funds for the long-term benefit of Clark, Clay, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Effingham, Fayette, Jasper, Lawrence, Richland and Shelby counties. Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation currently manages approximately $17 million in charitable assets for the greater good of Southeastern Illinois.

related news