donate online

News & Blog

June 20, 2018

Robson Jackson Nursing Scholarship Awards $11,500 to Six Area Nursing Students

(Top row, L-R) Allison Deters, Brynn Flack, Kayla Herzing
(Bottom row, L-R) Leah Jansen, Natalee Swafford, Jodi Zacha

Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation is pleased to announce that six Effingham County nursing students have been named recipients of the 2018 Roy Robson and Roma Jackson Nursing Scholarship. A total of $11,500 has been awarded to the following students: Allison Deters (Teutopolis High School), Brynn Flack (Effingham High School), Kayla Herzing (Effingham High School), Leah Jansen (Teutopolis High School), Natalee Swafford (Effingham High School), and Jodi Zacha (Dieterich High School).

The scholarship was established by Roy Robson and Roma Jackson in memory of their sister, Mary, who was diabetic and required considerable nursing care. Roy and Roma saw first-hand the need for good care and provided a bequest establishing a permanent endowment for nursing scholarships.

related news