donate online

News & Blog

January 24, 2023

Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation releases available scholarships for Mattoon High School students and alumni

(MATTOON, Illinois – January 24, 2023) Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation is now accepting applications for the following scholarships. The deadline to apply is 11:59 p.m. on Tuesday, March 14, 2023. The application link may be found on our website.

Arland D. Williams, Jr. Scholarship

*Competitive for college Jr. and Sr.’s only.* This scholarship supports a former Mattoon High School graduate who is currently majoring in finance, banking, accounting, economics, or computer science.

Elgin and Genevieve Daily Farm Scholarship

This scholarship supports college-bound youth studying agriculture at the University of Illinois or music at Millikin University who reside in Coles or Moultrie County.

Daisy H. Mason Scholarship

The Daisy H. Mason Scholarship specifically supports graduates of Mattoon High School who are pursuing higher education.

Del Willison Scholarship

This scholarship supports high school seniors and alumni aiming to complete a certification program, a two-year associate degree, a four-year college degree, or vocational/technical school. The scholarship is available for graduate school and will be determined on an annual basis. The financial need of the applicant will be considered.

Elizabeth Ann Weidner Scholarship

This scholarship is for high school seniors pursuing secondary education, preferably in the areas of health, agriculture, or the arts.

Henry L, John L. and Catherine H. Smysor Scholarship

The Smysor Scholarship specifically supports Mattoon High School students who have a parent that grew up in Windsor, IL.

Lebovitz Lively Arts Scholarship

This scholarship provides visual and performing arts scholarships for Mattoon High School graduates pursuing higher education.

Mattoon High School Alumni Scholarship

The Mattoon High School Alumni Scholarship Fund aids Mattoon High School seniors and past awardees pursuing higher education.

William, Agnes and Elizabeth Burgess (Osborne) Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship specifically supports graduates of Mattoon High School pursuing higher education.


To apply, visit to begin the Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation Common Scholarship Application.  For more information, contact Kristen Bertrand, Program Officer, at 217.342.5413 or

Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation was established in 2009 as a result of a merger between Effingham County Community Foundation (est. 1999) and Mattoon Area Community Foundation (est. 1980). Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization managing permanent and non-permanent assets for the long-term benefit of communities in southeastern Illinois.

related news